The Refining Fire – The Ups and Downs

Image

Man, I am on an emotional roller coaster. I’m sure that’s normal. When asked how are you doing – my answer depends on when I’m asked. Today was no different.

It started with some great news. The kind of news that takes a load off your shoulders. Then I was given an anonymous gift that was just incredible. It’s very cool to see God so close to you. The way He uses other people is amazing!

Then the day got hectic with drop off, errands, phone calls, more decisions, etc. As the morning went on – I was sent a simple email with what I thought was unsalvageable items from our closets. Thinking it was simply a list, I opened the document. But to my surprise it was actual pictures of our unsalvagable items. Those pictures I wish I would have never seen.

Some of the items I had really been praying for them to be salvageable. Those items were things like Finn’s favorite stuffed animal – Big Al or the Selah’s newborn hat from Northside hospital. I know it seems like such silly things. But they were very special to me and my kids.

This process has shown me that I was much more attached to my personal belonging than I thought I was. My personal belongings, the sentimental items, and stuffed animals are really just comfort. Yet my true comfort and contentment should be fully coming from the Lord.

I am ever so grateful that I have an unfailing and unshakable Lord who cares for little ole me. What do people do without Jesus in these valleys of life?

God, my shepherd!
    I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
    you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
    you let me catch my breath
    and send me in the right direction.

Even when the way goes through
    Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
    when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
    makes me feel secure.

 You serve me a six-course dinner
    right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
    my cup brims with blessing.

Your beauty and love chase after me
    every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God
    for the rest of my life.

Psalm 23 MSG

This entry was posted in Praise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Refining Fire – The Ups and Downs

  1. Wally Walkup says:

    They’re not silly things.

    I haven’t cried so much in years because of the silly things that I was uncovering in the rubble and ashes.

    The silly things are the fabric of our family. They represent a time, a phase, memories and smiles. There is no dollar value for them.

    Yes, the silly things are gone, but the ones who owned the silly things are alive and well. So it’s up to us to start all over gathering and storing more silly things.

  2. Thanks for being willing and able to share these hard roller coaster moments. It is good for healing and helps us remember how to pray. Those “list” are hard to handle. I hope you have lots of love and a soft place to fall every time you come to a similar moment. The Lord IS indeed close to those of a broken heart. Let Him catch you AND send his angels and friends to hold you through the storm. Give Greg and the kids hugs from me, Seth and Bethany. You are on all our minds often

Leave a Reply

