Observing Lent

Hello readers,

This is a long post so please stick with me. I’ve been kinda quiet these last 2 months. There are several reasons for that. But I’m not going to go into that now. What I would like to do is let you know that I am going to be completely quiet for the next 40 days starting March 5th. From March 5th to Easter I will be observing Lent. I’m giving up social media. That means no blogging, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, etc.

Since the fire, I have been learning a lot from my Savior. Basically my life has been picked apart. God has been cleansing me through and through. Over the last month I have been reading a book by Beth Moore called Breaking Free from Spiritual Strongholds. I’ve found a few of them to be weighing me down. Observing Lent will allow me to fully focus on God and to finish out this round of cleansing. I’m sure you’ve heard the statement – “you have to hit rock bottom to fully change.” Well, that’s what I feel like. It seems that God has taken my life turned it upside down and is shaking all the lies and darkness out. He’s truly taking me through a refining process to bring me closer to Him. As hard as it has been, I am grateful.

In Matthew 14:22-33, the account of Jesus walking on water is told. Peter had the courage to get out of the boat and walk towards Jesus when he was invited. But once he took his eyes off Jesus and looked around at the storm, he began to sink. Jesus did save him but then asked him- why did you doubt? In my situation, this opportunity of Lent is allowing me to keep my eyes on Jesus and not be distracted by the storm around me.

Thanks for listening! See you after Easter!

This entry was posted in Refining Fire, Spirtual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Observing Lent

  1. Don’t know if you have already turned off your computer and won’t see this for weeks but in case …..I have been through a cleansing process and yes God put me in a place to be very quiet and seek just Him. He even took me out of church for a whole year and I saw even good things can become idols, lifted up above Him who is all good. Be blesssed on your journey. I will wait patiently to read your next blog. Deeper, wider, in the love of Jesus, daily let us be. .Deeper, wider, holy, blessed Savior, make us more like Thee. That is an old old song but it is making more sense to me now. Sandra

Leave a Reply

