Bad days, good days

We all have them. Good days. Bad days.

But what happens when the bad days last for 3 1/2 weeks now?

Finn has been sick for 3 1/2 weeks now. First it was just a cold. Then at 1:00 am on a Saturday night, it turned to croup and we found ourselves at the emergency room.  Then only 5 days later – he wasn’t getting better. So I took him to the doctor and it was a double ear infection. So he started an antibiotic. Then just 10 days later, he got hit with a stomach bug. Poor little guy. It was so sad seeing my baby throwing up and just miserable. The next day he was all better and I thought it was over. But it wasn’t 4 days later – he threw up again and spiked a high fever. So back at the doctors office we went…his ear infection wasn’t gone. And doc thought the stomach bug came back. Oh and one more thing – it seemed like he had either strep or a sinus infection on top of that.

Now that is a lot of bad days. Bad days for my baby boy!

And me – Well, I’ve had my own ups and downs. Days where I cried. Days where I was pissed all day. But today, today I gained perspective. I had been praying for it. And I’m glad it came.

It could be worse. It could always be worse.

The fact is i’m thankful. Thankful for a God who loves me more than I can imagine. Thankful His mercies are new each day. Thankful for a husband who knows when I need to get out and away. Thankful for friends who call, text, and pray for us. REALLY thankful for a boss and an organization that make it ok for me to miss work to take care of my child.

It’s been a rough 3 weeks. But I’m hoping Finn is fully recovered soon.

Thanks for listening to me vent.

2 thoughts on “Bad days, good days

Leave a Reply

