Maniac Monday – Customize Your Salsa

Want to know why I will never buy salsa again?

That’s easy – it’s because I will always make it myself from here on out!

Recently a good friend of mine passed along a salsa recipe. You can find that recipe here. I tweaked the recipe and love how it turned out so I had to share with you all!

Here is my recipe but know you can customize it completely to fit your needs. You could not put any jalapeno if you don’t like spicy. You could add black beans or corn to have a different spin. If you like it chunky just add an extra can of diced tomatoes at the end. So many ideas!

EasyHomemadeSalsa

Easy Homemade Salsa

What you need:

  • 1 can of whole tomatoes 28 – 32 oz, drained
  • 1 red onion, quartered
  • a couple garlic cloves whole or minced (whatever you have)
  • 2 Tbsp of lime
  • 2 tsp of salt
  • 2 tsp of cumin
  • a large handful of fresh cilantro (I used almost a whole bunch)
  • 1 can of jalapenos (I used a 4 oz can)

What to do:

Put everything in a food processor and blend until consistency is like you prefer. Serve chilled!

Note – this salsa is best once it sits together a bit in the fridge. Also, I not sure how long it lasts but it has been gone in 4-5 days in my house.

Leave a Reply

