My Own Expectations

“The ability to last in motherhood requires giving up expectations for our own life, deciding that sacrificing our desires and wants for the sake of our family is our gift of worship to our Heavenly Father.”

If you follow me on social media, then you have seen me post about this book I’m reading. It’s called Desperate: Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe. This book has really come at a good time. I left my full-time job in January of this year. It took about 7 months for me to fully transition and get used to being home full-time. The job of being a full-time mom is way harder than I imagined. But God has used this time to really grow me.

I have learned that I am quite the selfish person. I get upset when something inconveniences me. And being around a 4 and 1 year old that will happen a lot. Over the last few months God has continued to point this out to me. And I am working through it. God has reminded me that I’m a full-time missionary in this high-calling of motherhood.

Last week this statement jumped off the page of the book –

“The ability to last in motherhood requires giving up expectations for our own life, deciding that sacrificing our desires and wants for the sake of our family is our gift of worship to our Heavenly Father.”

What a concept I thought! And it’s such truth. So I decided to start over. I followed these steps below and began a new journey in my calling as a mom to my two kids.

1. I asked my Savior for forgiveness. And then I asked my children for forgiveness.
2. I start each day giving up my day. I give up what I want to accomplish. If you know me than you know I still have a plan. But I am working to not hold on too tightly to that plan.
3. I keep my eyes open for teachable moments. Moments that I will miss if I’m too focused on what I want to do.
4. I pray continually – less of me, more of you.

I know this was a long post. But as I close I want to share this with you. Finn drew this picture of our family. I am so grateful I was here to see it. What a beautiful heart he has!

20130923-070558.jpg

One thought on “My Own Expectations

Leave a Reply

